Sanderson senior Hardee, Coach Laughlin top Cap 8 baseball all-conference list

cgrant@newsobserver.comJune 19, 2013 

  • All-conference selections

    Sanderson: Daniel Dulaney, Tyler Hardee, Ryan Jeffers, Matt Koehler, Will Presson, Ray Roby, Cas Silber

    Millbrook: Ryan Bargoil, Chandler Burriss, Zach Dixon, Brian Miller, Brian Nobles, David Tart

    Broughton: Maclin Batchelor, Joe Bialkowski, Rob Case, Steven Thornhill, Wilson White

    Leesville Road: Jack Conley, Dillon Cooper, Sam Duncan, Michael Kelly, Will Stephens

    Heritage: Tyler Petersen, Jacob Quintal, Dylan Reget

    Wakefield: Evan Brabrand, Clark Jones

    Enloe: Calvin Hawke

    Wake Forest-Rolesville: Cam Johnson

A year after being voted team MVP, Sanderson senior Tyler Hardee was named Cap Eight baseball player of the year.

The pitcher and infielder helped the Spartans make a second-half push to take the league’s regular season top spot before falling in the second round of the NCHSAA 4A playoffs.

Hardee, who will play at Methodist next year, led the team with 20 RBIs while hitting .379. From the mound, he had an ERA of 1.83 in 61 innings pitched.

Sanderson coach Todd Laughlin was named conference coach of the year, and junior Daniel Dulaney, who posted a no-hitter in the first round of the state tournament, shared co-pitcher of the year honors with Millbrook senior Brian Nobles.

The Cap Eight rookie of the year was Leesville Road sophomore Jack Conley.

North Raleigh News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service