Broughton’s Weaver, Leesville Road’s Fullbright earn Conference 3 lacrosse honors

cgrant@newsobserver.comJune 19, 2013 


  • Girls’ all-conference First Team

    Cardinal Gibbons: Lane Huger, Kathleen Mills, Claire Nelson, Shelby Scanlin, Rebecca Wiley

    Wakefield: Abby Blakely, Ashley Blawas, Morgan Leithead

    Broughton: Kelsey Dupere, Sydney Fry

    Enloe: Katherine Manweiler

    Millbrook: Erin Brooks

  • Boys’ all-conference First Team

    Leesville Road: Matt Conrad, Drew Farrell, Ryan Moreno, Davis Sampere

    Broughton: Hayden Lovett, Mitchel Snyder, Davis Weaver,

    Wakefield: Marcus Abrams, Mark Beyrer, Henry Franz

    Millbrook: Carter Durling, Patrick Williams

    Heritage: Spencer Mack

Broughton junior Davis Weaver, whose 56 goals this season led the area, was named Conference 3 boys lacrosse player of the year.

Weaver helped lead the regular season league champion Caps to the third round of the state playoffs.

Leesville Road coach Jeremy Fullbright, who led the Pride to its first lacrosse postseason appearance, was named conference boys coach of the year.

The girls league did not name a coach or player of the year. Regular season champion Cardinal Gibbons was the only team to advance past the first round of the playoffs. The Crusaders later fell to eventual state champion East Chapel Hill in the third round.

Conference 3 includes the seven Cap Eight schools that field lacrosse teams. Cardinal Gibbons is a member of the girls’ league, while Garner is a member in the boys’ league.

North Raleigh News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service