New faces expected in Youngsville after Nov. 5 election

sbarr@newsobserver.comOctober 28, 2013 

— Lots of new faces are expected to soon join the elected officials in town hall.

There is only one incumbent among the eight candidates on the Nov. 5 ballot in Youngsville.

Mayor Sam Hardwick has decided not to seek another term, so voters will choose between two political newcomers in the mayoral race, Fonzie Flowers and Deborah Palmer.

And of the six people vying for three seats on the Board of Commissioners, only Cat Redd is seeking re-election after serving one four-year term. Board members Leelan Woodlief and Marvin Roberts have decided not to run for re-election.

Mayoral candidate Flowers, an active volunteer and youth sports coach, has lived in Franklin County for a decade and moved to Youngsville with his family earlier this year.

He said he’s interested in addressing issues such as downtown traffic, and bringing new jobs and businesses to the area.

As growth in northern Wake edges into Franklin County, Youngsville has to be prepared, said Flowers, who is pleased to see so many candidates in this year’s election.

“It tells me that people are really amped up and getting involved,” he said.

The town’s other mayoral candidate, Palmer, moved to Youngsville seven years ago from Washington, D.C., but she’s visited relatives in the area since she was a little girl.

Palmer said she wants to make sure local government is responsive and accessible to all residents.

“I’m just tired of the good ol’ boy syndrome,” she said. “It’s time for change.”

Her top priority for the area is bringing more businesses downtown, including entertainment options that would appeal to a wide range of residents.

The other candidates for the commissioners openings are Scott Anderson, Thomas Dement, George Dillard, Terry Hedlund and Larry Wiggins.

Elections also will be held in the Franklin County communities of Bunn, Centerville, Franklinton and Louisburg on Nov. 5.

In Wake County, Wake Forest voters will select two candidates for town commissioner out of a pool of four – Mike Cole, Margaret Stinnett, Shinica Thomas and Jim Thompson – and choose between two mayoral candidates, Vivian Jones and Bill Randall. In Rolesville, three incumbents – Ronnie Currin, Frank Hodge and Betty Whitaker – are running unopposed for the town board.

In Granville County, municipal elections will be held in Butner, Creedmoor, Oxford, Stem and Stovall.

In Creedmoor, six people – Jerry Holmes, Thomas Jackson, Del Mims, Otha Piper Jr., Tony Santangelo and John Stallings – are running for two open seats on the board of commissioners. Piper and Stallings are incumbents.

Creedmoor Mayor Darryl Moss is running unopposed.

Barr: 919-836-4952

North Raleigh News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service